NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Grays Harbor Raceway > Croft Wins Summer Thunder Sprint Series Feature, Zerbin and Margeson Victorious

 Moderated by: Rick Terry, Kelly Hart, Kaleb, Fletch
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Croft Wins Summer Thunder Sprint Series Feature, Zerbin and Margeson Victorious  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Tuesday Sep 4th, 2018 11:13 PM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Aarons Racing Videos

Joined: Wednesday Mar 19th, 2014
Location: Elma, Washington USA
Posts: 530
Croft Wins Summer Thunder Sprint Series Feature, Zerbin and Margeson Victorious

The Summer Thunder Sprint Series, Northwest Focus Midgets, and Shipwreck Beads Modifieds were on hand for Labor Day weekend on Sunday night. The weather was perfect as a great field of cars in all three classes took to the 3/8 banked clay oval.

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

Kevin Smith of Sedro Woolley took the early lead in the 25 lap Shipwreck Beads Modified feature. Shelton's Alan Muenchow ran in second as Lane Zerbin of Campbell River, BC quickly took over the runner up position. Lap 1 saw the caution flag fly for a multi car incident in turn two. On the restart Zerbin stayed right with Smith, and took the lead on lap 3 in turn one. Smith moved back to fourth as Muenchow and Shelton's Scott Miller took over second and third. Muenchow and Miller raced for second with Miller taking the position a few laps later. Zerbin continued to pull away as the rest of the field sliced and diced for position giving a little breathing room for Zerbin. Tom Sweatman of Cosmopolis worked his way into third looking to track down Zerbin and Miller. Lap 11 Miller saw problems as he spun into the infield on the front stretch. On the restart Sweatman set his sights on Zerbin. A three car battle for second ensued between Sweatman, Aberdeen's Austin Kerrigan, and Graham Cook of Campbell River, BC. Lap 14 saw Kerrigan spin in turn four bringing out the caution. A late race restart gave Sweatman and Cook a shot at Zerbin for the lead. Cook moved into second running the outside of the raceway. Zerbin picked up the win over Cook, Sweatman, Kevin Smith, and Scott Miller. Heat race winners were Kerrigan, Brenton Schnitzer of Shelton, Scott Miller and Zerbin, with Tyson Blood of Olympia picking up the B-Main.

Northwest Focus Midgets Series

18 Northwest Focus Midgets set the field as Poulsbo driver AJ Fugitt took the early lead. Chance Crum of Snohomish moved into second, battling with Nik Larson of Lake Stevens. Tacoma's Evan Margeson also joined in, making it a three car battle for second. Crum and Margeson looked to the low side of Fugitt for the lead, and Crum took the position out of turn two. Margeson stayed right at his back bumper waiting for any mistake. The caution flew on lap 5 as Ray Stebbins of Seattle spun in turn four. Margeson looked to try and take the lead on the restart but was unsuccessful. Crum ran the low line making sure Margeson didn't have a chance to take the momentum away. The battle for third between Larson, Bow's Shane Smith, and Tristin Thomas of Burlington was one of the races to watch. A mid race restart saw Smith make a move at Margeson for second, but couldn't hold the position. Margeson made a shot for the lead, taking the top spot in turn four on lap 15. A late race caution gave Crum, and Tristin Thomas a shot at Margeson for the lead. Thomas looked to stay right with Margeson in the closing laps but it was Margeson who picked up the win over Tristin Thomas, Garrett Thomas of McCleary, Smith, and Crum. Heat race winners were Smith, Crum, and Garrett Thomas

Summer Thunder Sprint Series

Greg Hamilton of Burlington took the early lead momentarily as Jared Peterson of Stanwood quickly took the position down the backstretch on the opening lap. Hamilton was challenged by Medford, Ore's Garen Linder and Sacramento, CA driver Willie Croft for second. Peterson quickly pulled away from the field but the caution flag flew for Puyallup's Trey Starks after making contact with a uke tire and heavy suspension damage on the car. On the restart Croft looked to make a slide job move on Peterson but couldn't make the pass. Peterson quickly worked his way into lap traffic running the high side, which allowed Croft to stay close. A lap 12 caution for Cobble Hill, BC driver Robbie Price allowed Croft to try and make a pass into turn one on the restart. The second time was unsuccessful as Peterson had more momentum on the high side. Lap traffic became a factor again on a long green flag run. Croft made his move into turn one on lap 21 making the pass on Peterson, a few laps later Peterson tried to make a pass but couldn't. Peterson stayed within striking distance. Henry Van Dam of Enumclaw slowed to a stop in turn two setting up a 4 lap shootout between Croft and Peterson. Croft timed his restart perfectly and pulled away from Peterson. Buddy Kofoid of Penngrove, CA gave Peterson a battle for second, trading slide jobs for a handful of laps. Croft picked up the win over Kofoid, Peterson, Linder, and Marysville's Colton Heath. Heat race winners were Kofoid, Croft, and Shelton's Jay Cole, with Devon Borden of Raymond picking up fast time.

Grays Harbor Raceway
September 2, 2018

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

Heat 1:
1. AK47 Austin Kerrigan, 2. 6M Alan Muenchow, 3. 43K Shane Kerrigan, 4. 34T Jason Tole, 5. 75C Casey Smith, 6. 22A Justin Austin, 7. 18X Sam Carlisle, 8. 97 Tyson Blood

Heat 2:
1. 87K Brenton Schnitzer, 2. 7K Kevin Smith, 3. 75 Graham Cook, 4. 28 Brian Harding, 5. 151 Adam Holtrop, 6. 17E Cody Erskine, 7. 4R Bill Rowe

Heat 3:
1. 26 Scott Miller, 2. 69 Shane Rau, 3. 27 Lawrence O'Connor, 4. 87 Tyler Walker, 5. 8W Rick Smith, 6. 8 Steve Bulpitt

Heat 4:
1. 81 Lane Zerbin, 2. 11s Tom Sweatman, 3. 18R Ryan Baker, 4. 31 Don Martin, 5. 22X Kelly Fugate, 6. 40 Mike Knox, 7. 41 Tim Phillips

1. Blood, 2. Erskine, 3. Phillips, 4. Fugate, 5. Knox, 6. Austin, 7. Casey Smith, 8. Holtrop, 9. Rick Smith, 10. Bulpitt, 11. Rowe, 12. Carlisle

1. Zerbin, 2. Cook, 3. Sweatman, 4. Kevin Smith, 5. Scott Miller, 6. Rau, 7. Baker, 8. Schnitzer, 9. Shane Kerrigan, 10. Martin, 11. Erskine, 12. Harding, 13. Austin Kerrigan, 14. Tole, 15. Muenchow, 16. Fugate, 17. Phillips, 18. Walker, 19. Blood, 20. O'Connor

Northwest Focus Midgets Series

Heat 1:
1. 44 Shane Smith, 2. 16 Nik Larson, 3. 9T Tristin Thomas, 4. 17 Chris Bullock, 5. 92 Katie Jackson, 6. 11T Ray Stebbins

Heat 2:
1. 41 Chance Crum, 2. 11 Evan Margeson, 3. 12 Jesse Conway, 4. 2A Renee Angel, 5. 25 Michael Hodel, 6. 73 Keoni Texeria

Heat 3:
1. 14 Garrett Thomas, 2. 5 AJ Fugitt, 3. 3H Hannah Lindquist, 4. 98 Glenn Bittrolf, 5. 90 Brendan White, 6. 18 Jake Austin

1. Margeson, 2. Tristin Thomas, 3. Garrett Thomas, 4. Smith, 5. Crum, 6. Larson, 7. Lindquist, 8. Bullock, 9. Hodel, 10. Conway, 11. Angel, 12. Bittrolf, 13. Austin, 14. Stebbins, 15. White, 16. Fugitt, 17. Texeria, 18. Jackson

Summer Thunder Sprint Series

Fast Time:
8 Devon Borden

Heat 1:
1. 8R Michael Kofoid, 2. 91 Chase Goetz, 3. 8 Devon Borden, 4. 7N Jared Peterson, 5. 17 Cam Smith, 6. 15 Jeff Dunlap, 7. 22R Mike Romig

Heat 2:
1. 29 Willie Croft, 2. 22X Jayme Barnes, 3. 96 Greg Hamilton, 4. 3 JJ Hickle, 5. 9R Reece Goetz, 6. 97R Jason Reed, 7. 20 Michael Bollinger

Heat 3:
1. 0J Jay Cole, 2. 22 Garen Linder, 3. 33V Henry Van Dam, 4. 33 Colton Heath, 5. 33s Lance Sargent, 6. 21P Robbie Price, 7. 8P Trey Starks

1. Croft, 2. Kofoid, 3. Peterson, 4. Linder, 5. Heath, 6. Chase Goetz, 7. Borden, 8. Hickle, 9. Barnes, 10. Smith, 11. Hamilton, 12. Cole, 13. Reed, 14. Sargent, 15. Romig, 16. Van Dam, 17. Reece Goetz, 18. Dunlap, 19. Price, 20. Starks, 21. Bollinger

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 05:50 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Grays Harbor Raceway > Croft Wins Summer Thunder Sprint Series Feature, Zerbin and Margeson Victorious Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems