NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Skagit Speedway > Champions Crowned at Skagit Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Champions Crowned at Skagit Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Sunday Sep 20th, 2015 05:52 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Sunday Mar 5th, 2006
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1708
Champions Crowned at Skagit Speedway


Alger, WA – Five champions wrote their name in the history books of Skagit Speedway at Scrap It Recycling Night on Saturday night. Colton Heath became a back to back champion in the 360 division, while Kelsey Carpenter won the track title in the 410 class, his fourth title in three different open wheel divisions at the track. Lance Sargent finished his rookie season by claiming the title, while Lawrence O’Conner became the second champion of the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds and Freddie Vela took his fourth Outlaw Tuner crown.

For Heath, the title was sewn up coming into the night, but he was looking for his career best fourth victory over the course of a year. After winning the scramble, Colton made full use of his pole position start, streaking away from the field early and winning the feature without challenge to punctuate his second title in the LAW Motorsports #33. Eric Fisher took second and Michael Bollinger was third.

Kelsey Carpenter added his name to a short list by taking the 410 title on Saturday night. Carpenter joins Chad Hillier as the only two drivers to have won titles in the Sportsman, 360 and 410 divisions at Skagit Speedway. He accomplished this on the strength of his second place finish in the main event behind Jason Solwold who led every lap in the Shaylen Raye Motorsports #18. Colton Heath won the scramble in the Rudeen Racing #26.

The dream season for Lance Sargent ended with the Spanaway, WA rookie in victory lane with a race win and season title to his name in the Sportsman Sprints. Sargent led all 25 laps of the feature to pick up the win and lock up the title, with Kelsey Carpenter on his tail for a large portion of the main event. Lance, who won the scramble, glued his car to the low groove and kept a smooth line to fend off Carpenter and take the win. Carpenter took second and James Bundy was third.

Lawrence O’Conner was rarely challenged during the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds season, and that played out again on Saturday night as once he took the lead form Mel Decker on lap three, he was gone. O’Conner had nearly a half track on second place Decker and third place Louis Nutter Sr as he crossed under the checkered flag and collected the season title to boot. He also won the scramble,

Freddie Vela picked up another win and his fourth title on the Outlaw Tuner class. Cliff Ballenger challenged Freddie early but the veteran of eight tuner seasons pulled away late for the win. Ballenger took second and Dan Butenschoen finished a career best third.

Sportsman Sprints
Fast Time – Brett McGhie 12.532
Scramble – Lance Sargent, Kelsey Carpenter, James Bundy, Steve Parker, Lee Hornbeck, Joe Lyon, Devin Barnes, Ben Gunderson
Main – Lance Sargent, Carpenter, Bundy, Kevin Kirkpatrick, Hornbeck, Barnes, Gunderson, Brett McGhie, Lyon, Clayton Sibley, Roger Oudman, Julian Fuentes, Parker, Kyle Secord, Bert Johnson Jr, Thor Hatton
Lap Leaders – Sargent 1-25

360 Sprints
Scramble – Colton Heath, Michael Bollinger, Eric Fisher, Robbie Price, Steve Reeves, Steve James, Lawrance Kirkham, Bud Ashe
Main – Colton Heath, Fisher, Bollinger, Price, Chris Schmelzle, Ashe, Trevor Cook, Kirkham, Daniel Cernich, Reeves, James
Lap Leaders – Heath 1-25
Season Champion – Colton Heath

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds
Scramble – Lawrence O’Conner, Mel Decker, Louis Nutter Sr, Branden Nutter, Tyler Ketchum, John Snyder, Becky Boudreau
Main – Lawrence O’Conner, Decker, Nutter Sr, Snyder, Warner, Ketchum, Nutter, Boudreau
Lap Leaders – Mel Decker 1-2 O’Conner 3-25

410 Sprints
Scramble – Colton Heath, Jason Solwold, Kelsey Carpenter, Justin Youngquist, Matt Jensen
Main – Jason Solwold, Carpenter, Jensen, Heath, Youngquist
Lap Leaders – Solwold 1-25

Outlaw Tuners
Scramble – Freddie Vela, Cliff Ballenger, Jon Gunderson, Travis Meins, Jack Desrosier, Dan Butenschoen, Terra Arnett
Main – Freddie Vela, Ballenger, Butenschoen, Vos, Arnett, Kevin Reuter, TJ Campbell, Red Fritsch, Gunderson, Desrosier, Clint Meins
Lap Leaders – Vela 1-17

There are ways of expressing your disagreement with another person's opinion that don't come off as adversarial. As long as those methods are employed, differing opinions are healthy.
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 02:18 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Skagit Speedway > Champions Crowned at Skagit Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems