NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Kaeding, Aguiar, Elrod Ocean Speedway Winners

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Kaeding, Aguiar, Elrod Ocean Speedway Winners  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Thursday May 17th, 2018 11:21 PM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Kaeding, Aguiar, Elrod Ocean Speedway Winners

Watsonville, CA...May 11...Bud Kaeding scored his second Ocean Sprint Car, presented by Taco Bravo, 30 lap Main Event victory Friday night at Ocean Speedway. Wheeling the #0 car for Maurie Williams, Kaeding chased Cole Macedo for five laps before making the pass on lap six to take the lead. The only yellow flag waved on lap nine, and Kaeding continued to lead Macedo and Justin Sanders on the restart. Kaeding pulled away just a bit, but Macedo and Sanders had a close race going for second. In the latter stages of the race, Macedo closed in just a little bit on Keading, but he was unable to pose a serious threat. Kaeding took the checkered flag ahead of Macedo, Sanders, Kyle Offill, Brad Furr, Koen Shaw, Nathan Rolfe, Kurt Nelson, Jeremy Chisum and Danny Malfatti.

Kaeding set the fast time of 11.663 on the Tom Sagmiller prepared quarter-mile clay oval, beating the 11.828 effort of Macedo. Sanders won the first eight lap heat race ahead of Furr, and a battle of the Shaw brothers saw Koen beat Kyler for the victory in the second heat. Macedo won the four lap Trophy Dash ahead of Kaeding.

Jack Aguiar won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event that was destined to go without a yellow flag. It was his second win of the season. Aguiar grabbed the lead at the start ahead of 2015 champion Jim DiGiovanni. Aguiar ran smooth, and though he didn't build a huge lead, he was about half a straightaway in front by the waving of the checkered flag. DiGiovanni held second until Bakersfield Speedway competitor Austin Manzella made the move by him on lap 17. DiGiovanni settled for third behind Aguiar and Manzella. Mike Dean held off Merced Speedway star Chase Thomas to finish fourth as Igor Grandzuk, Matthew Hagio, Justin McPherson, Tanner Thomas and John Ferro completed the Top 10 in the 17 car field. Aguiar also won his eight lap heat race ahead of Anthony Giuliani. DiGiovanni captured the other heat in front of Manzella.

JC Elrod held off a late surge by Matt Kile to win the 20 lap American Stock Main Event. Joe Willoughby was the early leader with Elrod settling into second. Elrod slipped past Willoughby for the lead on lap eight. Kile gained second on lap 12 with the departure of Willoughby and set about closing the gap for the lead. Rob Gallaher was third at that point. In the final two laps, Kile made it a close battle for the lead, but Elrod managed to beat him back to the checkered flag. Gallaher was a solid third ahead of Tony Oliveira, Terry Traub, Ken Orr, Jason Perkins, Willoughby, Mike Calhoun and Jerry Skeleton. Kile was working on a clean sweep effort as he won his eight lap heat race ahead of Orr and then outran Elrod to win the four lap Trophy Dash. Elrod won the other heat ahead of Calhoun.

After a crash took her out of contention at the previous race, Kelly Campanille came back strong by winning the 15 lap Mini Stock Main Event. Chris Amos led the first four laps before his race came to an abrupt end for the only yellow flag of the race. Dakota Keldsen took the lead on the restart ahead of Campanille and Kate Beardsley. Campanille was pressuring Keldsen hard for the lead and finally made her winning pass on lap seven. As Campanille stretched her lead, Beardsley moved in to challenge Keldsen for second. A last-lap pass gained Kate Beardsley second as Keldsen settled for third ahead of Abigail Kennedy, Nicole Beardsley, Bill Beardsley, Amos and Nate Teramo. Teramo won the first eight lap heat race ahead of Bill Beardsley. Campanille won her heat ahead of Williams.

The IMCA Modifieds return to headline next Friday's event along with the IMCA Sport Modifieds, American Stocks and the Police N Pursuit. For further information, go to http://www.racepmg.com.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:52 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Kaeding, Aguiar, Elrod Ocean Speedway Winners Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems