NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Matt Hein Wins Rick Brown Memorial Race At Douglas County Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Matt Hein Wins Rick Brown Memorial Race At Douglas County Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday May 25th, 2018 06:17 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Matt Hein Wins Rick Brown Memorial Race At Douglas County Speedway

Roseburg, Oregon...May 19...The NSRA Sprint Car Series opened their season with the Rick Brown Memorial Race at Douglas County Speedway Saturday night. When the checkered flag waved on the 40 lap Main Event, it was Matt Hein winning by nearly a straightaway in front of Jeff Montgomery. Hein is a five-time NSRA Series champion, including winning the last three series titles. This was also his third win in the Brown Memorial as he proudly accepted the Rick Brown Super Shoe. Andy Alberding brought it home third, just ahead of Aaron Wilson. Ryan Orchard settled for fifth as Randy Dubois, Colton Nelson and Thomas Richardson were also lead lap finishers. Reece Goetz and Mitch Holte rounded out the Top 10.

Montgomery beat the field in qualifying with a fast lap of 12.405, just barely faster than Hein's 12.414 and the 12.418 of Wilson. Goetz won the first eight lap heat race, just ahead of Orchard. Kyle Alberding managed to hold off Hein to win the second heat, and Dubois won his heat race by the biggest margin ahead of Colton Nelson.

Marty White bested a field of 13 competitors to win the 25 lap West Coast Vintage Racers Main Event. Shawn Priest was in close pursuit for a second place finish as John Dauhl finished third. John Wills took a checkered flag in fourth, followed by Dean Warmerdam, Bob Willis, Dick Nelson, Chris Drakes, Dave Duncan and Jeff Kennedy. Wormadam set fast time with a 15.370 lap, beating the 15.614 of Dauhl. Bob Willis outran John Wills to win the the first four lap dash. Priest won the second dash ahead of Dick Nelson and Warmerdam won the third dash over Marty White. The first heat race win was earned by White ahead of Dauhl and Warmerdam won the second heat over Bob Willis.

Harlon Cox picked up the victory in the 25 lap PRA Hardtop Main Event. Cox beat Kyran Greene in a photo finish at the checkered flag. Troy Gasner was a solid third ahead of 2016 champion Greg Hickman, Donnie Fain, Steve Smith, Brian Leniahn and Mike Batman. Cox set the fast time of 17.155, beating a 17.220 of Gasner. Greene outran Cox to win the four lap Trophy Dash, and he had a repeat performance in holding off Cox to win the eight lap heat race.

Reigning PRA Modified champion Andrew Koens won the 25 lap Main Event with Brad Watson a very close second. Tom Elam was the only other lead lap finisher at Scott Copley and John Harvey completed the Top 5. Koens set the fast time with a 15.731 as Elam had a 16.015. Koens won the four lap Trophy Dash ahead of Elam, but Elam beat Koens back to the checkered flag in the eight lap heat race to prevent a clean sweep.

The track is dark this Saturday night, but the PRA Hardtops return on June 2nd along with the Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Hornets. For further information, go to http://www.douglascountyspeedway.com.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 02:54 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Matt Hein Wins Rick Brown Memorial Race At Douglas County Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems