NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Forsberg Wins $3,000 PitStopUSA.com Sprint Car Race At Petaluma Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Forsberg Wins $3,000 PitStopUSA.com Sprint Car Race At Petaluma Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday May 25th, 2018 06:22 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Forsberg Wins $3,000 PitStopUSA.com Sprint Car Race At Petaluma Speedway

Petaluma, CA...May 19...Andy Forsberg came to town and left with the $3,000 first prize money after his victory in the 30 lap PitStopUSA.com Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Petaluma Speedway. Forsberg is a 10 time Civil War Sprint Car Series champion who is currently competing for the championship at Silver Dollar Speedway. There was a close battle for a $1,000 second place finish down the stretch with Kaleb Henry grabbing the position ahead of Colby Johnson. Championship contender Jake Haulot was a strong fourth, followed by Kirt Organ, David Lindt II, Brett Rollag, Shane Hopkins, Will Fatu and Zack Linskey.

Previous winner Klint Simpson set the fast time of 13.175, just barely beating the 13.182 of Forsberg. The 17 competitors were divided into three eight lap heat races, and reigning track champion Jeff Ensign won the first heat by a comfortable margin in front of Simpson. Jake Haulot won the second heat over Rollag and the final heat race win was earned by John Clark over Shane Hopkins.

Four-time Antioch Speedway champion Troy Foulger returned and won a close battle with reigning champion Oreste Gonella for his second victory in the 25 lap McLea's Tire IMCA Modified Main Event. Foulger drives for car owner Bill Bowers, and this was a tune-up for the coming Top Dog Nationals race that will have an increased purse on June 2nd. Gonella lost the race by .198 seconds. Multi-time champion Michael Paul finished third ahead of Terry Kaiser, past champion Tony Bernard, Jeff Faulkner, Justin Yeager, Chris Sieweke and Michelle Paul. Foulger won his eight lap heat race by a half lap in front of Faulkner, while Michael Paul won a closer battle with Anthony Slaney in the second heat.

Nick Larson outdueled Angelique Bell to win the 25 lap PitStopUSA.com Wingless Spec Sprint feature. It was a close race at the end as multi-time Spec Sprint champion Terry Shank was a strong third. Shayna Sylvia settled for fourth, followed by Dennis Furia Jr, Brent Steck, reigning track champion Ryan Siverling, Eden McCormick, Kaimi Moniz-Costa and Keith Calvino. The 16 Spec Sprints were divided into three eight lap heat races, and rising young star Jesse Love IV won a near photo finish with Steck in the first heat. Larson won another good battle with Furia in the second heat and the final heat race victory was earned by Shank, just ahead of Bell.

The track had its annual shootout race between the General Hydroponics Redwood Dwarf Cars and the South Bay Dwarf Car Association with a field of 22 competitors taking the green flag in their 25 lap feature. Multi-time champion Dave Mosier outran Zack Albers for another win. Mark Hanson completed the local sweep as South Bay stars Gene "Punky" Pires and Ryan Amlen made up the remainder of the Top 5. Barry Waddell finished sixth ahead of Justin Yanez, Caroll Mendenhall, Chad Mathias and Brady Beck. Matthias, Justin Yanez, Adam Teves and Ryan Amlen won the four six lap heat races.

The track will be dark this weekend, but the Top Dog Nationals IMCA Modified race, scheduled to pay $1,500 to the winner, will be on the card on June 2nd along with the PitStopUSA.com Winged 360 Sprint Cars and the Santa Rosa Auto Body 600 Micros. For further information, go to http://www.petaluma-speedway.com.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 11:04 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Forsberg Wins $3,000 PitStopUSA.com Sprint Car Race At Petaluma Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems