NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Cox Wins Can-Am Challenge At Douglas County Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Cox Wins Can-Am Challenge At Douglas County Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday Jul 13th, 2018 04:42 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Cox Wins Can-Am Challenge At Douglas County Speedway

Roseburg, Oregon...July 6...The first weekend of July signaled the annual Can-Am challenge Hardtop race at Douglas County Speedway Friday night. The event pits the top PRA Hardtop competitors against some of the top drivers who come in from Canada. When the checkered flag flew on the special 40 lap Hardtop Main Event, it was local star Harlon Cox just beating Kyran Greene back to the line for the impressive victory. The win also kept Cox 11 points ahead of Greene in a close championship battle. Kale Beck was a strong third and Douglas Richers was about a straightaway behind Cox in fourth. 2016 champion Greg Hickman won a battle with Travis Lillard for fifth as they just managed to stay on the lead lap. Jamie Britton and Donnie Fain were each a lap down in seventh and eighth, respectively, while Duncan Behar and Sam Young completed the Top 10 in the 16 car field.

Qualifying was equally competitive as Greene set the fast lap of 17.059. Cox was second quick at 17.079, just beating Mike Batman, who had a lap of 17.091. Cox won the four lap A Dash ahead of Richers, while the four lap B Dash win went to Hickman ahead of Batman in a closer battle. The eight lap heat race wins went to Behar, George Jenson and Richers. Richers won a close battle with Cox and Greene right behind him.

Andrew Koens won the 20 lap PRA Modified Main Event with point leader Tom Elam about half a straightaway behind him in second. John Harvey, Scott Copley and Harlon Cox rounded out the Top 5. Koens set the fast time standard at 15.718, beating the 15.872 of Elam. Four lap Trophy Dash honors went to Elam ahead of Koens, and Elam also outran Koens to win the eight lap heat race.

The Mini Stocks ran in conjunction with the Modifieds, and point leader Karl Smith managed to stay just one lap behind the Modifieds as the top Mini Stock finisher. Jimmy Smith was second, followed by Gary Carnes, reigning champion Chuck Jacobs and Dale Roth. Smith set the fast time at 17.367, beating the 18.018 of Jacobs. Smith also outran Jacobs to win the four lap Trophy Dash and beat Roth to win the eight lap heat race.

The PRA Hornet division had 13 competitors, and Bruce McMasters picked up the win in a good battle with Jeremy Mayfield in the 30 lap Main Event. Logan Barron was a strong third ahead of Cherish Wilson, Pete Lemon and final lead lap finisher Bryson Lillard. Dave Beals, Jeff Solberg, Jeremy Simms and Roy Harvey completed the Top 10. Beals set the fast time of 19.682, beating the 20.211 of Solberg. Beals then outran Solberg to win the four lap Trophy Dash, and Solberg won his eight lap heat race ahead of Beals. The other heat race win was a bit closer as Bart Pulse outran Mayfield for the win.

This Saturday night is the Elevacity Mini Stock Invitational. Street Stocks, Hornets and Bangers are also on the card. For further information, go to http://www.douglascountyspeedway.com.

Douglas County Speedway Unofficial Race Results July 6, 2018
Can-Am Hardtop Challenge
Results are not official
1     #56 Harlon Cox      
2     #88 Kyran Greene
3     #35 Kail Beck
4     #54 Douglas Richers
5     #58 Greg Hickman
6     #9 Jamie Britton
7     #57 Donni Fain
8     #57m Travis Lillard
9     #88d Duncan Behar  
10     #55 Sam Young
11     #a1 EL Don
12     #90 Levi Miller      
13     #25 George Jenson      
14     #07 Mike Batman      
15     #47 Lonnie Wilson          
16     #42 Roger Beck

PRA Modifeds
Results are not official
1     #5 Andrew Koens  
2     #8 Tom Elam
3     #11 John Harvey
4     #57 Scott Copley
5     #09 Harlon Cox

PRA Mini Stocks
Results are not official
1     #21 Karl Smith  
2     #34 Jimmy Smith
3     #3 Gary Carnes  
4     #12 Chuck Jacobs  
5     #0 Dale Roth

PRA Hornets
Results are not official
1     #32b Bruce McMasters      
2     #0 Jeremy Mayfield
3     #13 Logan Barron
4     #05 Cherish Wilson
5     #67 Pete Lemon
6     #57 Bryson Lillard
7     #9 Dave Beals      
8     #90 Jeff Solberg
9     #09w Jeremy Simms
10     #32 Roy Harvey  
11     #9t Tyler Organ          
12     #00 Tom Durant          
13     #63 Bart Pulse    

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:34 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Cox Wins Can-Am Challenge At Douglas County Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems