NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Beals Wins Hornet's Nest 50, Elam, Solberg Win At Douglas County Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Beals Wins Hornet's Nest 50, Elam, Solberg Win At Douglas County Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday Jul 27th, 2018 06:02 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Beals Wins Hornet's Nest 50,
Elam, Solberg Win At Douglas County Speedway

Roseburg, Oregon...July 21...Dave Beals picked up an impressive victory in the Hornet's Nest 50 Saturday night at Douglas County Speedway. At the end of the race, Beals still had his hands full with Street Stock point leader Jeff Solberg battling him for the lead. However, Beals scored the big victory with Solberg a close second. Joseph Mircle was a strong third, followed by Bruce McMasters and final lead lap finisher Bob Vancil. Vancil was the 2017 division champion. Bryson Lillard was a lap down in sixth followed by a Bart Pulse, point leader Pete Lemon, Dylan Grichar and Jeremy Simms, who was three laps back.

Solberg set the fast time standard on the evening with a lap of 19.624, barely beating the 19.669 effort of Beals. Mircle collected the four lap A Dash win in a good battle with Beals, while Jeremy Mayfield scored the B Dash win ahead of Lillard. McMasters won the first of three eight lap heat races in dominant fashion. Vancil and Beals were the other heat race winners.

Tom Elam scored the 30 lap PRA Modified Main Event win. Elam is the current point leader, and he had his hands full battling Andrew Koens for the win down stretch. Harlon Cox managed to stay on the lead lap in third as John Harvey and Brad Watson completed the Top 5. Koens set the fastest time of 15.581, beating Elam's 15.722 effort. Elam won the four lap Trophy Dash, and the eight lap heat went to Cox in a photo finish with Koens.

Jeff Solberg picked up the win in the 25 lap Street Stock Main Event. It was a good battle between Solberg and Chris Lemon, with point leader Solberg winning a near photo finish at the end. Monique Scevers, Bill Stewart and Dale Roth were the Top 5 finishers. Roth set the fastest time of 16.748, beating the 17.362 lap of Solberg. Stewart outran Solberg in a good battle for the four lap Trophy Dash win, while Solberg turned the tables on him by winning the eight lap heat race.

Reigning Mini Stock champion Chuck Jacobs bested a short field to win the 15 lap Main Event. In the process, he gained the point lead from Dale Roth. Roth finished a close second in the Main Event with Gary Carnes finishing third. Jacobs set the fast time at 18.401, but he finished second to Roth in the heat race. Roth also outran Jacobs to win the four lap Trophy Dash.

The track continues its string of big events for different divisions. This Saturday night is the Street Stock Smackdown event, which will feature the local drivers going head-to-head against The Iron Giant Street Stock Series, which competes mostly on dirt. Also scheduled to appear will be the PRA Hardtops, Hornets, Bangers and the Pro 4 Wedge Cars. The track will then go dark for a month before coming back on August 25th for the West Coast Modified Shootout race. For further information, go to http://www.douglascountyspeedway.com.

Douglas County Speedway Unofficial Race Results July 21, 2018
Hornet's Nest 50

Dave Beals
Jeff Solberg
Joseph Mircle
Bruce McMasters
Bob Vancil
Bryson Lillard
Bart Pulse
Pete Lemon
Dylan Grichar
Jeremy Simms
Jeremy Mayfield
Michael Kennerly
Bernie Bryant
Cherish Wilson
Valerie West
Rich Dickenson

Tom Elam
Andrew Koens
Harlon Cox
John Harvey
Brad Watson

Street Stock
Jeff Solberg
Chris Lemon
Monique Scevers
Bill Stewart
Dale Roth

Mini Stock
Chuck Jacobs
Dale Roth
Gary Carnes

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 08:01 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Beals Wins Hornet's Nest 50, Elam, Solberg Win At Douglas County Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems