NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Wiesz, Jones Win At Marysville Raceway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Wiesz, Jones Win At Marysville Raceway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Thursday Aug 2nd, 2018 07:34 PM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Wiesz, Jones Win At Marysville Raceway

Marysville, CA...July 28...Colby Wiesz went flag-to-flag for the victory in the 25 lap Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Marysville Raceway. This was the first feature victory of the season for the three-time champion. Wiesz raced into the early lead ahead of Billy Wallace and Kyle Allen. A yellow flag flew on lap six for Mark Ballantine in Turn 2, and Allen's run in the Top 3 came to an abrupt end in a heated moment. Wiesz continued to lead Wallace on the restart as Cody Hodgson settled into third. The final caution flag waved on lap 14 for Brent Bjork. Wiesz maintained command ahead of Wallace and Hanson on the restart, but Hodgson made his move around Wallace for second on lap 21. Hodgson was putting some good pressure on Wiesz down the stretch, but his bid to overtake him fell just short at the checkered flag as Wiesz was the happy winner. Wallace settled for third ahead of Mike Monahan, Bjork, Alec Justeson, Jimmy Steward, Adam Walters, Mike Sullivan and Mike Ballantine. Going into the night, Monahan trailed Allen by just seven points and may have emerged with the lead by the end of the evening.

Walters surprised the field with the fastest lap of 12.488, barely beating the 12.490 effort of Allen. Monahan picked up his eight lap heat race win ahead of Walters, while Allen outran Wiesz to win the second race.

Past champion Shawn Jones returned and won the NorCal Dwarf Car 20 lap Main Event. Jones has been racing regularly with the Hunt Wingless Spec Sprint Series and is the current point leader there. The Main Event had to be restarted when Devan Kammermann was eliminated in a crash. Scott Dahlgren set the early pace ahead of Dan Geil and Jones. Jones slipped past Geil for second on lap two and set his sights on Dahlgren. Jones made the pass for the lead on lap nine, and the caution flag waived for Shawn Whitney in Turn 3. Jones led as past series champion Ryan Winter was challenging Geil for second. Unfortunately, Winters' race came to an end in a Turn 4 crash involving Kevin Miraglio. Jones led Geil on the restart, and the two ran closely with Jones winning ahead of a season-best effort in second for Geil. Mike Reeder was a solid third, followed by Jeff Fitch, Tim Fitzpatrick, Ben Wiesz, Josh Wiesz, Ron Jones, Shawn Whitney and Colby Wiesz.

The NorCal Dwarf Cars once again brought a huge turn out of 26 competitors. They ran four eight lap qualifying heat races with wins going to Whitney, Reeder, Jack Haverty and Fitzpatrick. Fitzpatrick won the closest battle in a near photo finish ahead of Josh Wiesz. They ran a 10 lap B Main to determine the final starters for the Main Event, and Kevin Bender won that race ahead of Jeff Fitch and Ben Wiesz.

Matt Davis scored the victory in the 20 lap Super Stock Main Event. Davis is one of the front-runners at Placerville Speedway and recently won a Main Event there. Several Placerville regulars helped grow the car count, and Eddie Gardner set the early pace ahead of Dan Brown Jr and reigning champion James Castleberry. Unfortunately, Brown's race up front ended in Turn 4 with a lap five caution flag. Castleberry raced into the lead on the restart, followed by Jay Norton and Davis. Castleberry saw Davis in his rear-view mirror on a lap 11 restart, and Davis set his sights on the victory. Following a lap 15 caution flag for Danielle Clauson, Davis began to pressure Castleberry and made his winning move on lap 17. Davis brought it home to a well-earned victory, and Norton overtook Castleberry for the second place finish. Past Marysville Late Model star Leroy Perry finished fourth ahead of two-time Petaluma champion Steve Studebaker, Clauson, Rod Oliver, Chris Warner, Eddie Gardner and Dan Brown Jr. They ran two six lap heat races with wins being recorded by Gardner and Brown.

Racing will return on August 11th with Kids Night. The Winged 360 Sprint Cars will be back along with the Crate Sprints, Hobby Stocks, California Hardtop Association and RaceSaver Sprint Cars. There will also be Kids Bike Races. For further information, go to http://www.marysvilleraceway.com.

Marysville Raceway Unofficial Race Results July 28, 2018
360 Sprints
Colby Wiesz
Cody Hodgson
Billy Wallace
Mike Monahan
Brent Bjork
Alec Justeson
Jimmy Steward
Adam Walters
John Sullivan
Mike Ballantine
Kenny Allen DQ
Jeremy Hawes DQ

Dwarf Cars
A Main
Shawn Jones
Dan Geil
Mike Reeder
Jeff Fitch
Tim Fitzpatrick
Ben Wiesz
Josh Wiesz
Ron Jones
Shawn Whitney
Colby Wiesz
Sam Wren
Ryan Plexico
Justin Winter
Kevin Bender
Wade Ehrlich
Ryan Winter
Jack Haverty
Danny Wagner
Scott Dahlgren
Kevin Miraglio
Devan Kammermann

B Main
Kevin Bender
Jeff Fitch
Ben Wiesz
Justin Winter
Colby Wiesz
Mike Reed
Tom Vantuyl
Derek Droivold
Robert Kozinski

Super Stocks
Matt Davis
Jay Norton
James Castleberry
Leroy Perry
Steve Studebaker
Danielle Clauson
Rod Oliver
Chris Warner
Eddie Gardner
Dan Brown Jr.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:06 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Wiesz, Jones Win At Marysville Raceway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems