NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > All N/W Open Wheel dirt racing > Trey Starks Wins Night #1 Of WST Spring Showdown

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Trey Starks Wins Night #1 Of WST Spring Showdown  Rating:  Rating
 Posted: Saturday Apr 25th, 2015 06:22 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Monday Sep 18th, 2006
Posts: 2024
Trey Starks Wins Night #1 Of WST Spring Showdown
By Ben Deatherage
Despite cold temperatures and occasional showers in the afternoon Trey Starks would make history when it comes to Sprint Car racing in the Pacific Northwest on Friday April 24th at the Cottage Grove Speedway. The Puyallup, Washington teenager will go down as the first ever main event winner of the newly formed Western Sprint Tour. It would also mark the first time that Starks would win a main event at the famed 1/4-mile clay oval. Nineteen entries would fill the pit area representing the states of Oregon, Washington, and Arizona.

At the drop of the green flag Chris Schmelzle of Colville, Washington, but originally out of Victoria, British Columbia, seized the early race over the competition. Schmelzle would set a rapid pace and build a decent size lead before entering lapped traffic. While Schmelzle navigated the lapped cars Treu Starks began to reel him in.

Starks would make some quick moves in traffic and got around Schmelzle to seize the lead on lap seven. From there Starks would stretch the distance between quite a bit betweent himself and second place creating a luxury of a massive margin and several lapped cars behind him.

The main event went incident free in the first half of the race but a handful of cautions would occur in the last fifteen laps. Starks would master every single restart and distanced himself from the rest of the field allowing him to go on to cruise to the main event win. It was the first win of the 2015 season for the Southland Equipment Limited/Starks Timber Processing/Rutz Racing/Fisher Racing Engines #55 J&J team.

Seth Nunes of Medford was a respectable second in his Napa Auto Parts/Lucas Oil Products/Rodgers Racing Engines/Awesome Race Wear #5N KPC followed by the Hamilton Construction/Speedmart Inc./Shark Racing Engines/Trainwreck Bar & Grill #96 XXX. The balance of the top five would consist of Lake Havasu City, Arizona's Logan Forler, in the Steve Forler Trucking/Rush Concrete Pumping/Lucas Oil Products/Parker Racing Engines #2L Maxim, in fourth while fifth was Cam Smith of Mill Creek, Washington in his Dave Smith Motorsports/Powdercoating Inc./DCSigns.ca/Shark Racing Engines #17 Maxim.

Earlier in the evening Greg Hamilton was fast time of the night and heat races were won by the Linder Powdercoating/Visual EFX Signs & Graphics/Rodgers Racing Engines #22 KPC of Garen Linder from Central Point, Trey Starks, and Chris Schmelzle. Seth Nunes would win the trophy dash to earn his pole starting position.

The Western Sprint Tour return to Cottage Grove Speedway on Saturday April 25th for the second night of the Spring Showdown. In addition to the 360 Sprints, IMCA Modifieds and the Quality RV Repair Hornets will be support classes.

Admission prices are Adults $15.00, Juniors/Seniors/Military $13.00, Youths (Ages 6-12) $8.00, and Children 5 & Under FREE. Pit Gates will open at 2:00 PM, Front Gates 4:00, Qualifying 5:30, and Racing begins right around 6:45. Log on to http://www.cottagegrovespeedway.com for more information. For the latest WST news and info check out sprints.nwextremeseries.com.

Race Summary:
Western Sprint Tour Race #1
Friday April 24th, 2015
Cottage Grove Speedway
Cottage Grove, Oregon
19 Cars

A Feature: 1. 55-Trey Starks[4]; 2. 5N-Seth Nunes[1]; 3. 96-Greg Hamilton[6]; 4. 2L-Logan Forler[13]; 5. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith[14]; 6. 36-Chris Schmelzle[2]; 7. 22-Garen Linder[3]; 8. 4J-Allison Journey[10]; 9. 21W-Vern Wheeler Jr[12]; 10. 87-Kyler Barraza[11]; 11. 5D-Patrick Dills[15]; 12. 70-Raquel Ivie[17]; 13. 23-Rob Lindsey[8]; 14. 45-Brent McGrath[18]; 15. 6A-Kady Adelman[9]; 16. 51-Kyle Miller[7]; 17. 21-Mike Griffith[16]; 18. 3-J.J. Hickle[5]; DNS 4-Colin Baker

Hard Charger: Logan Forler +9
Lap Leaders: Chris Schmelzle (1-6), Trey Starks (7-30)

Dash: 1. 5N-Seth Nunes; 2. 36-Chris Schmelzle; 3. 22-Garen Linder; 4. 55-Trey Starks; 5. 3-J.J. Hickle; 6. 96-Greg Hamilton

Heat 1: 1. 22-Garen Linder; 2. 23-Rob Lindsey; 3. 96-Greg Hamilton; 4. 21W-Vern Wheeler Jr; 5. 51-Kyle Miller; 6. 70-Raquel Ivie

Heat 2: 1. 55-Trey Starks; 2. 3-J.J. Hickle; 3. 5N-Seth Nunes; 4. 5D-Patrick Dills; 5. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 6. 45-Brent McGrath

Heat 3: 1. 36-Chris Schmelzle; 2. 2L-Logan Forler; 3. 87-Kyler Barraza; 4. 21-Mike Griffith; 5. 4J-Allison Journey; 6. 6A-Kady Adelman; DNS 4-Colin Baker

Qualifying: 1. 96-Greg Hamilton; 2. 3-J.J. Hickle; 3. 6A-Kady Adelman; 4. 51-Kyle Miller; 5. 5N-Seth Nunes; 6. 4J-Allison Journey; 7. 22-Garen Linder; 8. 55-Trey Starks; 9. 36-Chris Schmelzle; 10. 21W-Vern Wheeler Jr; 11. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 12. 87-Kyler Barraza; 13. 23-Rob Lindsey; 14. 5D-Patrick Dills; 15. 4-Colin Baker; 16. 70-Raquel Ivie; 17. 45-Brent McGrath; 18. 21-Mike Griffith; 19. 2L-Logan Forler

Last edited on Saturday Apr 25th, 2015 07:00 AM by BennyD

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 05:25 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > All N/W Open Wheel dirt racing > Trey Starks Wins Night #1 Of WST Spring Showdown Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems