NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame > 2013 Scholarships Announced

 Moderated by: Rick Terry
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
2013 Scholarships Announced  Rating:  Rating
 Posted: Saturday May 25th, 2013 05:52 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Sunday Dec 18th, 2005
Posts: 715
Leighty, Miller, & Crowell Receive 2013 EARHoF Scholarships

    Elma, WA, May 24, 2013.....Megan Leighty of Pacific Beach, Steven Miller from Westport, and Mukilteo’s Sara Crowell are the 2013 recipients of the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Scholarship Awards.

    The top award of $1,000 goes to Leighty. The 2013 Valedictorian of North Beach High School is a four time qualifier for the National Future Business Leaders of America Conference. Miss Leighty will be pursuing an Accounting degree at the University of Redlands in Redlands, California. Leighty attended her first race at the tender age of 3 months, watching her grandfather, Rich Leighty, and uncle, Rick Leighty, both EARHoF Inductees compete. She has continued to attend races and can often be observed volunteering at EARHoF functions. Besides FBLA and racing Miss Leighty has been active in her schools ASB, National Honor Society, Leadership, Yearbook, and Cross Country among other activities. 

    Miller, a student at St. Martin’s University studying Chemistry and Mathematics, will receive a $500 award. The 2012 EARHoF Scholarship winner has excelled academically at the Lacey, Washington university making the St. Martin’s Dean List and being involved in the Benedictine Leadership Program and the Norcia Leaders Community. The 2012 Ocosta High School Valedictorian with an impressive resume of volunteer work has continued to add to this list while at St. Martin’s, volunteering at university functions during the year. The son of current street stock owners Greg and Sonya Miller, the younger Miller hopes to become a Resident Assistant during his sophomore year. A career in Forensic Chemistry is Miller’s ultimate goal.

    A $300 award goes to University of Oregon student Sara Crowell. A 2012 graduate of Aberdeen High School, Crowell is studying Interior Architecture with a minor in Art/Architectural History at the Eugene campus and hopes to eventually study internationally with the architecture program. The Grays Harbor native is the granddaughter of 2012 EARHoF Inductee, Perry Crowell Jr. and the daughter of former hobby stock and modified driver, Keith Crowell. Graduating in the top 10 of her Aberdeen High Class while at the same time doing running start at Grays Harbor College, Miss Crowell has proven herself to be a very hardworking young lady and excels as a University of Oregon Duck continuing her interests and commitment to leadership and community service.

    The Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame wishes to congratulate the award winners and thank all applicants. Award recipients were chosen by volunteers not affiliated with the EARHoF. Scholarship awards are for one year. Award winners may reapply throughout the pursuit of their education.

    The purpose of the EARHoF scholarship is to encourage enrollment and participation in a recognized college, university, or professional school by family members of present and past Grays Harbor Raceway drivers, owners, pit crew, and officials. 

    The EARHoF is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the racing heritage of Grays Harbor Raceway while promoting the future. Information on the EARHoF can be found at http://elmaautoracinghalloffame.webs.com

Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame
9th Annual EARHoF Induction Ceremony
Stay Beyond Inn & Suites, Elma, WA
March 18, 2017

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 02:03 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame > 2013 Scholarships Announced Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems