NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Deming Speedway > Ryan Sweeps 600 Action at Deming Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Ryan Sweeps 600 Action at Deming Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Saturday May 4th, 2013 05:57 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Sunday Mar 5th, 2006
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1708
Ryan Sweeps 600 Action at Deming Speedway




Deming, WA – “It’s a lot easier coming from 5th as opposed to 20th” said a victorious Liam Ryan in victory lane after a clean sweep of the 600 division races on Napa of Bellingham and Mt Baker Powder Coating night at Deming Speedway. He was joined in victory lane by Eric Drake in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division, Jake Helsel in the 600 Restricted class and Cain Cress in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints.


After an impressive run from 20th to 2nd last Friday, Liam Ryan broke through for his first victory of 2013 with a lap 12 pass of Chase Schmidt amongst heavy traffic. Ryan’s victory broke the early season stranglehold that Schmidt had on the class after Chase won the opening two weekends. Shaun Holtorf stalked the front pair on his way to a third place run. Ryan was also the fast qualifier and won his heat race en route to his sweep. Other heat race winners were Hayden Schmidt, Kyle Mitchell and Lance Sargent.


Make it two wins now for Eric Drake in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 class. Early race leader Frosty Metcalfe appeared to have a shock go bad on him following a strange incident under red flag conditions when a car slowing to a stop ran over his right rear, which gave Drake the opening he needed. Once the race restarted, Drake, who had been tailing Metcalfe doggedly over the first 15 circuits, saw an opening under Frosty as Metcalfe bounced up the track as a result of the damaged shock. From there, clean air was Eric’s best friend as he streaked away to the win. Steven Hendrickson came home second and Tyson Cross was third. Heat wins belonged to Metcalfe and Hendrickson. Jared Gundersen set quick time.


Jake Helsel parlayed a fast car and a little luck into a victory at Deming Speedway in the 600 Restricted class. Helsel ran down race leader Hannah Lindquist in traffic, and then took the lead from her on lap 18. On lap 21 while mired in heavy traffic, Lindquist retook the point from Helsel. The pass would not stand however, as a caution flew before all cars could complete the lap. Under Deming rules, the field reverted to the last completed lap lineup, which returned Jake to the lead on the restart. From there, Helsel streaked away for the win, followed by Brandee Wood and Lindquist. Helsel was also the evening’s fastest qualifier. Heat wins went to Eli Schmidt, Wood, Kaitlyn Hammer and Ashleigh Johnson.


Cain Cress has now won two in a row in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Cress led from the outset, holding off Lynden Lebedinski and Haley Constance for the victory. Cress and Lebedinski won the heat races and Lebedinski was fast time.




Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints

Fast Time – Lynden Lebedinski 13.580

Heat 1 – Lynden Lebedinski

Heat 2 – Cain Cress

Main – Cain Cress, Lynden Lebedinski, Haley Constance, Mitchell Helsel, Tyson Lemley, Allison Johnson, Tyler McLeod, Peyton Rambo, Isabella Schlotfeldt, Haylee Bloodgood, Payton Hagen, Kyle Felver, Jessica Parks, Arissa Lamm, Trevor Douglas

Lap Leaders – Cress 1-15


600 Restricted

Fast Time – Jake Helsel 11.222

Heat 1 – Eli Schmidt

Heat 2 – Brandee Wood

Heat 3 – Kaitlyn Hammer

Heat 4 – Ashleigh Johnson

B Main – Tristin Thomas, Isaac Abenroth, Reese Wickard, Tanner Holm, Galen Turner, Tatum Pospical, JJ Thomas, Ashley Thompson, Kassie Labree, Nick Tuller, Kinser Kennedy

A Main – Jake Helsel, Brandee Wood, Hannah Lindquist, Ian Humphries, Dylan Resch, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Tristin Thomas, Spencer Constance, Darius Walker-Perkins, Riley Watkins, Ashleigh Johnson, Isaac Abenroth, Reese Wickard, Tanner Holm, Kaitlyn Hammer, Eli Schmidt

Lap Leaders – Lindquist 1-17 Helsel 18-25


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Fast Time – Jared Gundersen 10.405

Heat 1 – Frosty Metcalfe

Heat 2 – Steven Hendrickson

Main – Eric Drake, Steven Hendrickson, Tyson Cross, Jared Gundersen, Clennon Holloway, Brad Davison, Tony Helsel, Frosty Metcalfe, Ben Dial, Brock Lemley, Chance Arrants, Erik Ryason, Zach Keefe, Jacob Buckenmeyer

Lap Leaders – Metcalfe 1-15 Drake 16-25


600 Open

Fast Time – Liam Ryan 10.470

Heat 1 – Liam Ryan

Heat 2 – Hayden Schmidt

Heat 3 – Kyle Mitchell

Heat 4 – Lance Sargent

B Main – Mike Severson, Kyle Kennedy, Tanner Reid, Jeff Little, Kris Labree, Tom Hovind, Jordy Smith, Robbie Price

A Main – Liam Ryan, Chase Schmidt, Shaun Holtorf, Spud Allen, Brandon Turner, Brayden Planko, Hayden Schmidt, Brock Lemley, Kyle Mitchell, Lance Sargent, Jacob Brown, Chance Crum, Alden Ostrom, Mike Severson, Rachel Westmoreland, Jeff Little, Nate Vaughn, Tanner Reid, Kyle Kennedy, Austin Sheridan

Lap Leaders – C Schmidt 1-11 Ryan 12-25

There are ways of expressing your disagreement with another person's opinion that don't come off as adversarial. As long as those methods are employed, differing opinions are healthy.
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 10:37 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Deming Speedway > Ryan Sweeps 600 Action at Deming Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems