NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame > Shaun In The Dirt Podcast from ELMA HOF 2015

 Moderated by: Rick Terry
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Shaun In The Dirt Podcast from ELMA HOF 2015  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Sunday Mar 22nd, 2015 06:04 PM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Monday May 5th, 2008
Location: Everett, USA
Posts: 620
Shaun In The Dirt Podcast from the 2015 Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony posted on 3/22/15
Interviews with Rick Leighty, Cari Babcock and Troy Zvono (family of Mike Zvono), John Dickinson, Earl Fritts, Wes Gibbs and Cheryl (family of Charlie Gibbs Jr), John Vandyck, Ken Courts, Earle Sargent, and Glenn Vincent
Everett, WA | 3/22/15 - I had the honor of traveling down to Elma for the Elma Auto Racing 2015 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Right after they were inducted I had the chance to talk to all of the inductees or their family that represented them. It was such an honor to get to talk to all of these great people and their families and give you just a little slice of the history of Auto Racing in the Elma area.

I want to thank Rick and the entire Hall of Fame for letting me come down and interview all of the inductees.

Check it out at http://shauninthedirt.podomatic.com/entry/2015-03-22T10_55_13-07_00

Here is the Press Release courtesy of The Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame when they announced their class back in February.

Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2015

Elma, WA (February 7, 2015)…..Eight men covering 7 different decades of auto racing at Grays Harbor Raceway have been announced as the next group to be enshrined into the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame.
The class of 2015 will officially enter the EARHoF at the7th Annual Induction Ceremony and Silent Auction on Saturday, March 21, 2015.
The newest group contains track champions, longtime officials, crew members, track workers, and supporters who have made the racing experience special for the fans of Grays Harbor Raceway.
Mike Zvono, a four time sprint car champion from 1985 – 1988, will join his father, Nick, as an EARHoF Inductee. Zvono, who is deceased, will be represented by his family at the official ceremony.
John Dickinson began as crew member and partner on a jalopy in 1968, eventually becoming one of the top crew chiefs in the sprint car ranks. Dickinson also led the Evergreen Auto Racing Association as president during the 1990s. Now residing in Arizona, Dickinson plans to return for the Inductions.
Charlie Gibbs, Jr. brought his semi-modified from his hometown of Sedro Woolley to the Elma ½ mile in the late 1960s and raced to the track championship in 1970. The deceased Gibbs, a top runner at many Northwest tracks in his driving days, will be represented by his family.
Earl Fritts won the 1970 Jalopy Championship, moved on to be a top competitor in the semi-modifieds and eventually raced super-modifieds throughout the Northwest. A former instructor at West Point, Fritts hopes to return from Arizona for the activities.
John VanWyck held many duties at the race track including race driver. The Aberdeen resident claimed the 1977 Hobby Stock Championship during his driving days and then became one of the most valuable track workers for many years as tow truck operator.
Ken Courts days in racing date back to Central Parks Evergreen Speedway in the mid 1950s. Courts competed primarily in jalopies and hobby stocks, but could be found helping anyone who needed help in any class of car.
Earle Sargent purchased his first race car for $50 and began racing at the Elma Fairgrounds in 1957. Sargent later became a crew member on cars owned by Perry Crowell and has remained a racing fanatic to this day missing very few races. Sargent will be inducted at the 2015 Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Award recipient.
Glenn Vincent put his name in the record books as the 1997 Super Stock Champion, but his influence and legacy on racing at Grays Harbor Raceway continues today. Vincent had a big hand in getting the current modified class started and then the Modified Nationals that attract top racers to Elma each year and through his Shipwreck Beads continues to sponsor the class. Fans in the stands are very aware of his many fan friendly activities. Vincent will enter the EARHoF as the 2015 Fred Brownfield Exemplary Contribution Award recipient.

The 7th Annual EARHoF Induction Ceremony and Silent Auction will be held March 21, 2015, in the banquet room of Elma Eagles Hall at 404 W. Young Street, Elma, WA. The silent auction will get underway at 6 P.M. with the Induction Ceremony starting at 7 P.M. The public is invited. Admission is free, but donations are accepted to help the non-profit, volunteer EARHoF continue its mission of preserving and honoring the racing heritage of Grays Harbor Raceway.

Last edited on Sunday Mar 22nd, 2015 10:35 PM by quake551

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

 Posted: Tuesday Mar 24th, 2015 05:54 PM
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post

Joined: Sunday Dec 18th, 2005
Posts: 715
Be sure to check out shauninthedirt.com. Shaun did a great job of covering the 2015 EARHoF Induction Ceremony in his podcast. His support and everything he does to promote racing and racers is greatly appreciated. Thanks Shaun!

Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame
9th Annual EARHoF Induction Ceremony
Stay Beyond Inn & Suites, Elma, WA
March 18, 2017

Back To Top PM Quote Reply

Current time is 02:01 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame > Shaun In The Dirt Podcast from ELMA HOF 2015 Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems