NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Pounds, Johnson, Biggs Win Kern County Raceway Features

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Pounds, Johnson, Biggs Win Kern County Raceway Features  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday May 25th, 2018 06:19 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Pounds, Johnson, Biggs Win Kern County Raceway Features

Bakersfield, CA...May 18...Brad Pounds won the 30 lap A Modified Main Event Friday night at Kern County Raceway. This was a nice comeback from the previous race where Pounds seemed headed for victory before having problems late. This time, Pounds had to battle rookie Shane DeVolder, but he prevailed at the checkered flag. The always exciting Robby Sawyer was a strong third ahead of Roger Holder and previous winner Steve Noland as Chris Crompe Jr, Jerry Flippo, Clint Reichenbach and Dave Phipps completed the finishing order. Noland outran Reichenbach to win their eight lap heat race, while Pounds beat Holder in the second heat.

Bakersfield Speedway Superstar Michael Johnson won a good battle with Gary Dutton and Chris McKellar to win another 25 lap B Modified Main event. Johnson set a rapid pace and had the fast lap of the race of 17.992. There were 14 starters in the Main Event, and Austin Frye was a solid fourth ahead of Kevin Johnson, Matthew Mayo, David Pearson, Bobby Claborn, Nick Spainhoward and Mini Stock graduate Dylan Potter. Dutton won the first of three eight lap heat races ahead of Spainhoward. McKellar prevailed in front of Frye in the second heat, while Potter bested Pearson to win the final heat.

The USAC Speed2 Midgets made their first appearance of the season, and Ariel Biggs came in from the Pacific Northwest and won the 30 lap Main Event. Adam Lemke outran Ashley Heredia in a good battle to finish second. Joey Iest was a solid fourth in front of Blake Brannon, Tyler Slay and Keoni Texeira. David Prickett was a Main Event scratch. Biggs outran Slay to win the first of two eight lap heat races, while Texeira beat Heredia to win the other heat.

Liam Myers impressed by winning the 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event. Shawn Schwartzenberger was a strong second, while Destiny Joplin battled recent Hanford winner Andy Boydston to finish third. Clinton Massey was the final lead lap finisher as Laren Myers, Ted Caraveo, Ken Shugarts, Paul Schwartzenberger and Kit Murphy completed the Top 10 at the finish. There were two eight lap heat races, and Massey won the first one ahead of Shawn Schwartzenberger in a photo finish. Myers beat Paul Schwartzenberger to win the other heat.

Racing resumes on June 1st with A Modifieds, B Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks. For further information, go to http://www.kernraceway.com.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:06 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Pounds, Johnson, Biggs Win Kern County Raceway Features Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems