NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Skagit Speedway > Solwold is Sportsman Sprint Shootout Champ

 Moderated by: nettersc39
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Solwold is Sportsman Sprint Shootout Champ  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Sunday Jun 17th, 2018 05:49 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Sunday Mar 5th, 2006
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1696
Solwold is Sportsman Sprint Shootout Champ


Alger, WA - With less than a calendar week before the 47th running of the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup presented by The Skagit Casino Resort at Skagit Speedway, Jason Solwold was in top shape as he took the $2,000 top prize for the R&H Mechanical Sportsman Sprint Shootout.

Solwold had his work cut out for him in the 25 lap main event. After setting quick time and winning his heat race, Solwold ran fourth in the dash, setting him on the outside second row for the main event as Cory Swatzina built a sizable early lead. A lap nine caution for James Bundy cut into Swatzina’s advantage, with Kelsey Carpenter, Trevor Cook and Solwold stacked up behind a lapped car on the restart. All three got around the slower car quickly, but Swatzina was back to building his lead as he close on traffic. Around lap 14, three cars came together at the back of the field, including Cale Brooke, Adam Hinds and Ashleigh Johnson, forcing Cory into traffic earlier than he anticipated. Cook and Solwold had cleared Carpenter and closed quickly on Cory, who couldn’t find the combination to clear the slower car. As the pair rolled to within a car length of the leader, Solwold slipped under Cook to take second, then on lap 21 made an inside move to pull even with Cory in turn three. The highside didn’t provide enough bite for Swatzina to keep up, securing the top spot for Solwold who quickly slid the slower car in front of him and ran away to take the victory. Champagne and Cigars from Hodel Racing and $1,000 cash bonus courtesy Shark Racing Engines awaited Solwold and the Kilcup Family team in victory lane. Cook took second from Swatzina in the closing laps, as Cory was relegated to third. Heat winners received a $100 gift certificate from Speedmart on the night - heat wins went to Solwold, Joe Lyon, Jared Peterson and Cook. The hard charger collected $250 bonus dollars from Jack Clevenger as well as Rob & Kate Dillard - that award went to Jake Helsel who moved up eight spots in the A Main. Bailey Sucich won a random draw in the pits for $50 gift certificate to Triple X Race Components Inc.

Rolling Thunder Big Rigs packed the house for their annual visit at Skagit Speedway. Tammi Rodstrom took the lead with two laps to go and held off Dustin Smith by a foot to pickup the win. Leo Norris led the first 18 laps before fading to third. Rob Johnson and Tom Rayton won the heat races.

Brian Michelson picked up win number three of 201 in the Outlaw Tuner division, leading laps 3-17 en route to the win. Jon Gunderson was second and Brandon Jansen took third, with Michelson winning the heat.

R&H Mechanical Sportsman Sprint Shootout
Fast Time - Jason Solwold 12.840
Heat 1 - Jason Solwold, Adam Hinds, Kelsey Carpenter, Ashleigh Johnson, Steve Parker, John Tharp
Heat 2 - Joe Lyon, Brett McGhie, Cory Swatzina, Jake Helsel, Bailey Sucich, KEvin Kirkpatrick
Heat 3 - Jared Peterson, Jayme Barnes, Cale Brooke, Barry Martinez, Bill Rude, James Bundy
Heat 4 - Trevor Cook, Devin Barnes, Colton Heath, Ryan Cully, Victoria McCabe
Dash - Cory Swatzina, Carpenter, Cook, Solwold
B Main - Kevin Kirkpatrick, Sucich, Rude, Bundy, Tharp, McCabe, Parker
A Main - Jason Solwold, Cook, Swatzina, Carpenter, Heath, J Barnes, Helsel, Peterson, McGhie, Lyon, Cully, Sucich, Martinez, Kirkpatrick, D Barnes, Brooke, Hinds, Johnson, Rude, Bundy
Lap Leaders - Swatzina 1-20 Solwold 21-25
Hard Charger - Jake Helsel +8

Outlaw Tuners
Heat - Brian Michelson, Clint Meins, Brandon Jansen, Jon Gunderson, TJ Campbell, Rob Dozark
Main - Brian Michelson, Gunderson, Jansen, Dozark, Jack Desrosier, Meins, Campbell
Lap Leaders - Jansen 1-2 Michelson 3-17

Rolling Thunder Big Rigs
Heat 1 - Rob Johnson, Leo Norris, Tammi Rodstrom, Ben Smith, Jeromy Burdick
Heat 2 - Tom Rayton, Dustin Smith, Josh Sanaski, Dave Barr, Rob Johnson
Main - Tammi Rodstrom, Dustin Smith, Leo Norris, Josh Sanaski, Dave Barr, Tom Rayton, Jeromy Burdick, Rob Johnson, Ben Smith
Lap Leaders - Norris 1-18 Rodstrom 19-20

There are ways of expressing your disagreement with another person's opinion that don't come off as adversarial. As long as those methods are employed, differing opinions are healthy.
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 01:22 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Skagit Speedway > Solwold is Sportsman Sprint Shootout Champ Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems