NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Furr, Burke Win At Ocean Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Furr, Burke Win At Ocean Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Friday Jul 20th, 2018 01:57 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Furr, Burke Win At Ocean Speedway

Watsonville, CA...July 13...Brad Furr scored the victory in the 30 lap Taco Bravo Sprint Car Main Event Friday night at Ocean Speedway. Furr was trailing Koen Shaw by 4 points in the standings coming into the night, and his second win of the season may have gained him the lead. Reigning King Of The West Sprint Car champion Bud Kaeding led through two early yellow flags ahead of Cole Macedo. However, Macedo's run in second came to an end at a lap 18 caution flag. Furr led Sanders and Ryan Bernal into the Top 3 positions as Kaeding slipped back to fifth. Furr ran strong during the final 10 circuits and collected the satisfying victory ahead of Sanders. Kaeding made a late charge back into third as Jerry Bonnema, Tanner Boul, Jeremy Chisum, Kurt Nelson, Shaw, Blake Carrick and Jason Chisum completed the Top 10.

Macedo set the fast time in qualifying with his lap of 11.714 around the quarter-mile clay oval. Furr was second quick at 11.759. Bonnema won the first eight lap heat race ahead of Bernal. Macedo won his heat race in front of Mitchell Faccinto, and Zane Blanchard outran Sanders to win the final heat. Furr outran Kaeding in the six lap Trophy Dash to grab the pole for the Main Event.

IMCA Modified point leader Cody Burke maintained his lead with his second 25 lap Main Event win of the season. Danny Wagner set the pace for five laps before Burke made his move by to take over. Bobby Hogge IV was in third on a lap nine restart and raced past Wagner for second. During the final 15 laps, Burke led with Hogge right behind him waiting for just one mistake. However, Burke ran a smooth and flawless race for the well earned win. Hogge settled for second, followed by Brian Cass, Wagner, Austin Burke, DJ Shannon, Alex Wilson, Robert Miller, Tim Yeager Jr and Robert Dias. Hogge and Wilson each won eight lap heat races.

Point leader Matt Kile won his fourth 20 lap American Stock Main Event of the season. Kile led at the start ahead of JC Elrod. Elrod kept it close throughout the race, and reigning champion Rob Gallaher settled into third on lap six to make it a close three-car battle during the final 15 laps. However, Kile was not to be denied as he scored the victory, followed by Elrod, Rob Gallaher, Terry Campion, Nick Lawrence, Tony Oliveira, Jerry Skeleton, Joe Gallaher, John Farrell and DJ Keldsen. Rob Gallaher and Campion each scored wins in their eight lap heat races.

Zach Price won the 20 lap South Bay Dwarf Car Main Event. Ryan Amlen led the way for nine laps. Gene "Punky" Pires settled into second, but his run came to an end for a lap eight yellow flag. Amlen led just one more lap before surrendering the lead to Price. Price led the rest of the way for the victory. Amlen lost the second position briefly to Mark Biscardi on lap 11 but made his way back into second on a lap 17 restart to claim the position for good. Biscardi settled for third, followed by Marty Weisler, Trafton Chandler, Mac Aceves, Cameron Diatte, Brady Beck, Andy Claeson and Pires. Cameron Diatte and Price won the eight lap heat races.

Nate Teramo led all 15 laps to win the Mini Stock Main Event. He became the first two-time winner of the season as there have been eight different winners in nine races. Heat race winner Ray Bunn settled into second at the start and followed Teramo all the way to the checkered flag. Previous winner Tom Summers made a move from fifth to third on a lap three restart to finish there. Nicole Beardsley finished fourth, followed by Kate Beardsley, point leader Abigail Kennedy, Chuck Kessinger, Bill Beardsley, Dakota Keldsen and Ryan Muller. Abigail Kennedy won the other eight lap heat race.

Next weekend is the Eighth Annual Howard Kaeding Classic. This two day event will feature the Taco Bravo Sprint Cars, IMCA Sport Modifieds, American Stocks And South Bay Dwarf Cars on Friday night. On Saturday night, the King Of The West/NARC Sprint Cars will be there along with IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sport Modifieds. For further information, go to http://www.racepmg.com.

Ocean Speedway Unofficial Race Results July 14, 2018
Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo
Brad Furr
Justin Sanders
Bud Kaeding
Jerry Bonnema
Tanner Boul
Jeremy Chisum
Kurt Nelson
Koen Shaw
Blake Carrick
Jason Chisum
Gary Nelson Jr
Bryan Grier
Ryan Bernal
Cole Macedo
Zane Blanchard
Mitchell Faccinto
Richard Fajardo
Glenn Bryan

IMCA Modifieds
Cody Burke
Bobby Hogge IV
Brian Cass
Danny Wagner
Austin Burke
D.J. Shannon
Alex Wilson
Robert Miller
Tim Yaeger
Robert Dias
Jeff McCoun
Nick Decarlo
Raymond Keldsen Jr
Troy Foulger

American Stocks
Matt Kile
JC Elrod
Rob Gallaher
Terry Campion
Nick Lawrence
Tony Oliveira
Jerry Skelton
Joe Gallaher
John Farrell
DJ Keldsen
Terry Traub

Four Bangers
Nate Teramo
Ray Bunn
Tom Summers
Nicole Beardsley
Kate Beardsley
Abigail Kennedy
Chuck Kessinger
Bill Beardsley
Ryan Muller
Dakota Keldsen
Mateo Banuelos
Kevin Counterman DNS

South Bay Dwarf Cars
Zach Price
Ryan Amlen
Mark Biscardi
Eric Weisler
Trafton Chandler
Mack Aceves
Camron Diatte
Brady Beck
Eddy Claessen
Punky Pires
Greg McKenna DNS

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:41 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Furr, Burke Win At Ocean Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems