NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Sanders, Robertson Score Sprint Car Wins At Ocean Speedway

 Moderated by: nettersc39, KeeVan_RaceFan100
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Sanders, Robertson Score Sprint Car Wins At Ocean Speedway  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Thursday Aug 2nd, 2018 08:11 PM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Don Martin II

Joined: Tuesday Mar 15th, 2016
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 356

Sanders, Robertson Score Sprint Car Wins At Ocean Speedway

Watsonville, CA...July 27...Justin Sanders put on an impressive display of driving in scoring the victory in the 30 lap Taco Bravo Sprint Car Main Event Friday night at Ocean Speedway. It was the fourth win of the season for the 2015 champion, and it keeps him in title contention as he is third in the standings. It was Koen Shaw grabbing the Main Event pole position as he outran Sanders to win the six lap Trophy Dash. However, Sanders motored ahead at the start of the Main Event ahead of Shaw and Brad Furr. The order remained the same through three caution periods, but Furr moved by Shaw for the second position on lap 16. Sanders was doing a masterful job of negotiating slower traffic, leaving the battle for second. On lap 25, Ryan Bernal slipped past both Furr and Shaw to take second. However, Sanders held a straightaway advantage ahead of Bernal by the time the checkered flag waved. Furr settled for third ahead of Shaw, Tanner Carrick, Cole Macedo, Matthew Moles, Blake Carrick, Kurt Nelson and Jerry Bonnema.

There were 21 Winged 360 Sprint Cars on hand, and Furr set the fastest time of 11.852, barely beating the 11.897 of Tanner Carrick. Kyle Offill, Shaw and Jason Chisum were the winners of the eight lap heat races, and Shaw won the six lap Trophy Dash. By the end of the night, Furr held a two point advantage over Shaw and a 79 point lead over Sanders in a close championship battle.

Blake Robertson won the 30 lap IMCA Western RaceSaver Sprint Car Main Event as the group made their first of two scheduled appearances at the speedway. Robertson set the pace at the start ahead of Brooklyn Holland and point leader Grant Duinkerken. Duinkerken made the move around Holland for second on lap 11 with Kyle Rasmussen following quickly into third. Following a lap 17 caution flag, Robertson had Duinkerken in close pursuit in the waning laps. Duinkerken gave him a good challenge as they ran to the checkered flag, but Robertson prevailed in the end. Rasmussen settled for third, followed by Holland, Robert Solomon, Albert Pombo, Rick Bray, Mouro Simone, Michael Pombo and Doug Gandy. Robertson set the fast time of 12.311, and eight lap heat races were won by Michael Pombo and Rasmussen.

Austin Manzella scored the victory in the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event. Manzella is the current IMCA State point leader, and this was his third win at the speedway this season. Manzella led from the start with Anthony Giuliani in pursuit. The lead two positions remained the same all the way to the checkered flag as the event had just two yellow flag slowdowns. However, Giuliani was disqualified in post race tech. Austin Williams made the pass around Justin McPherson on the 18th lap for what would be a second place finish. Point leader Jim DiGiovanni finished fourth followed by Adrian Frost, Jack Aguilar, John Farrell, Jarrod Mounce and Charlie Hunter. Giuliani and McPherson each scored wins in the eight lap heat races.

Norm Ayers collected the victory in the 20 lap American Stock Main Event. It was his first win of the season as he becomes the seventh different winner so far. Ayers raced into the lead at the start, followed by Tony Oliveira. Oliveira's run in second came to an end on the fifth lap with Merced Speedway visitor Nick Lawrence taking up pursuit of Ayers on the restart. The lead three cars of Ayers, Lawrence and JC Elrod ran closely at the front of the pack in the waning laps. Elrod made a lap 19 pass around Lawrence for second, but Lawrence regained the position at the checkered flag. Ayers was the happy winner. Joe Gallaher finished fourth, followed by point leader in Matt Kile, Rob Gallaher, Chris McCabe, Tom Cline, DJ Keldsen and Oliveira. Johnson and Rob Gallaher were the eight lap heat race winners.

Rob Buchanan picked up the victory in the 15 lap Police N Pursuit Main Event. It was the first win of the season for Buchanan, who represents the Task Force Racers Team. Buchanan set the early pace ahead of Roy Iler. Jesse Mueller raced into the lead on lap five, but his run up front ended on lap 11 as Buchanan regained the point. Buchanan had his hands full with the California Highway Patrol Team car of Chris Murphy running a close second, but he prevailed at the checkered flag. Jared Johnson finished third, followed by John Hohmann and Kyle Dorris. Six lap race wins were recorded by Mueller and Murphy.

Stock Car racing takes center stage at Ocean Speedway next Saturday night with the 21st running of the Mike Cecil Memorial. IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds and American Stocks will all be on the card, and each division will be racing for $1,000 to win. The American Stocks will run an 80 lap Main Event. For further information, go to http://www.racepmg.com.

Ocean Speedway Unofficial Race Results July 27, 2018
Taco Bravo Sprint Cars
Justin Sanders
Ryan Bernal
Brad Furr
Koen Shaw
Tanner Carrick
Cole Macedo
Mathew Moles
Blake Carrick
Kurt Nelson
Jerry Bonnema
Jeremy Chisum
Anthony Simone
Bryan Grier
Tanner Boul
Vaughn Schott
Bud Kaeding
Jason Chisum
Richard Fajardo
Kyle Offill
Chris Nelson

IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars
Blake Robertson
Grant Duinkerken
Kyle Rasmussen
Brooklyn Holland
Robert Solomon
Albert Pombo
Rick Bray
Mauro Simone
Michael Pombo
Doug Gandy
Ben Catron
Brendan Warmerdam
Jacob Pacheco

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Austin Manzella
Austin Williams
Justin McPherson
Jim DiGiovanni
Adriane Frost
Jack Aguiar
John Ferro
Jarrod Mounce
Charlie Hunter DNS
Anthony Giuliani DQ

American Stocks
Norm Ayers
Nick Lawrence
JC Elrod
Joe Gallaher
Matt Kile
Rob Gallaher
Chris McCabe
Tom Cline
DJ Keldsen
Tony Oliveira
Sam Kennedy
Dakota Keldsen

Police N Pursuit
Rob Buchanan
Chris Murphy
Jared Johnson
John Hohmann
Kyle Dorris
Scott Morasci
Steven Fernandes
Jesse Mueller
James Cooper
Tony Weir
Josh McKim
Mike Mount
Roy Iler
Derrick Boler DNS

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 07:06 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > This Just Out..... > Sanders, Robertson Score Sprint Car Wins At Ocean Speedway Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems